Home >  Blog >  CaSPA applauds appointment of a Catholic Principal to the AITSL Board

CaSPA applauds appointment of a Catholic Principal to the AITSL Board

Posted on 5 July 2018
CaSPA applauds appointment of a Catholic Principal to the AITSL Board

As the following extract from the AITSL website shows, Mark Mowbray [above] - immediate past president of ACPPA - is one of the new members of the AITSL Board. He joins Beth Blackwood - Executive Officer [and past principal] of AIHSA - in this role. CaSPA has been campaigning for some time for broader representation of Principals on the AITSL Board and it is encouraging to see this taking place with these latest appointments.

The Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL) welcomes the appointment of five new Directors to its Board by Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham, Federal Minister for Education and Training.

AITSL Chair Laureate Professor John Hattie said the appointments will drive the organisation's focus on supporting and promoting high quality teaching and school leadership across the country.

"I'd like to acknowledge the astute directorship of AITSL for promoting excellence and supporting teachers and leaders to have the maximum in-school impact on student learning," Prof Hattie said.

"We are fortunate to have had Directors who exercise their duties and obligations with the utmost care and diligence. Our Directorship is wise, passionate and expert and this serves us well.

"Colleagues Prof Tania Aspland, Stephen Elder OAM, Trevor Fletcher, Dr Geoffrey Newcombe AM and Ms Melanie Saba have served with distinction and helped progress much-needed reforms.

"I am excited to welcome new Directors Beth Blackwood, Renez Lammon, Dr Peter Lind, Mark Mowbray and Prof Donna Pendergast.

"It will be a pleasure to work closely with all the new Directors, including those who are school principals or certified as highly accomplished teachers, because AITSL's focus will always remain on the students we are ultimately here to serve."

They will join Chair Prof Hattie and Deputy Chair Chris Wardlaw PSM, along with reappointed Directors Dr Jennifer Buckingham, Mr Tony Cook PSM and Mr Rob Nairn; who were reappointed for another term.

Prof Hattie also congratulated the Directors who have accepted reappointments.

All new Directors start their terms in June 2018.




195 Brighton Road, Somerton Park
South Australia, Australia 5044