Case Study - Experience as a Principal Interstate - David McInnes

Oct 20 2017
33 of our current 455 Catholic Secondary Pri...

Instructional leadership the way forward

Oct 19 2017
Principals who are instructional leaders hav...

School wrong for banning turban

Oct 18 2017
By not allowing five-year-old Sidhak to attend ...

Girls crack the code for success with STEM

Oct 17 2017
When Sarah Moran and her Geek Girl Academy coll...

Assistance for your school to partner schools in Asia

Oct 16 2017
2018 Australia-Asia BRIDGE applications closing...

Ombudsman rules against school who suspended Yr 12 student from Graduation Formal

Oct 15 2017
A Year 12 student missed her high school formal...

Principals' Salary Conditions - Comparison across Australia

Oct 15 2017
Over recent years, CaSPA has undertaken to summ...

Funding available for your school to visit Parliament House in Canberra

Oct 14 2017
We know a visit to Parliament House is a potent...

Civility costs nothing - Ignoring it in the workplace can pay a hefty price

Oct 13 2017
Nasty people don't just make others feel...

Our best on a par with Singapore's struggling students

Oct 12 2017
"We are condemning our children to a se...

Stephen Elder speaks out against wealthy private schools 'gaming the system' to double disability funding

Oct 10 2017

Victorian independent schools have been accus...

Case Study - From Greenfields site to Flourishing College - Lauretta Graham

Oct 09 2017
Above: Early days of construction...Lauretta...

St Virgils Students head to the chilly south..

Oct 08 2017
Above: Australian Antarctic Division di...

Cairns 2018 - Conference Program now available

Oct 08 2017

Cairns 2018 - Expressions of Interest Now Open

Oct 07 2017

History of CaSPA


The association was formed in 1994 as a national association representing Catholic secondary principals in all Australian states and territories.

A meeting in April 1994, under the leadership of Father Hugh Brown (Victoria) and with representatives from NSW (Br Paul Oakley0, Dr Vin Thomas (South Australia), David Heath (Western Australia, Lee-Anne Perry (Queensland), John Butterworth (Tasmania) and Susan Pascoe (representing NCEC) confirmed support for the move and developed a constitution for the proposed association. The Association was registered in September 1994 with the Australian Securities and Investment Commission [ASIC] as a public company limited by guarantee.

The approved association ­ made up of the relevant associations of each of the states and territories ­ was named the Association of Principals of Catholic Secondary Schools of Australia Ltd.

Under the chairmanship of John Butterworth, the association agreed that the purposes of the association were to exercise an influence on education decisions in Australia; to broadcast education issues needing attention; to exercise influence among decision­makers.

The inaugural Conference of the Association was held in Melbourne in 1998, hosted by the Principals' Association of Victorian Catholic Secondary Schools (PAVCSS). Following this successful Conference, biennial Conferences have been held on the Gold Coast (2000); Perth (2004); Sydney (2006).

The Association's Constitution was amended in 2007, and as part of this process the name of the association was changed to Catholic Secondary Principals Australia (CaSPA).

The Association has, over time, developed its influence through a range of avenues.

It participates in regular briefings and other consultations with the Commonwealth Department of Education, Science and Training (DEST) and meets regularly with the federal Minister for Education and when possible with the Opposition Spokesperson for Education.

It is a member of APAPDC (the Australian Principals Associations Professional Development Council). It has close links with Teaching Australia, participating in a broad range of consultations and discussions. It is a member of the Curriculum Standing Committee of National Education Professional Associations (CSNEPA), and the President is a member of the Australian government's Schools-Business Dialogue. CaSPA is included in consultations with a range of other education policy bodies, including the National Catholic Education Commission; the Asia Education Foundation; the universities and other peak principals' associations.

Presidents of APCSSA / CaSPA:

  • Fr Hugh Brown (1994)
  • Mr John Butterworth (1994 ­ 1997)
  • Ms Patricia Rodrigues (1998 ­ 2002)
  • Br Ambrose Payne (2003 ­ 2004)
  • Mr John Aldous (2005 ­ 2006)
  • Mr Vin Feeney (2007)
Tell a FriendPrint This PageBookmark SitePrincipals LoginEnquiry